Lala's Journal

By Lala

Pink October BCAM

It has taken me a while to make this image as it took me some time to find the heart. Having moved in July, I am still not sure where I have put some things!

I wanted to acknowledge National Black Dog Day as well as honouring Pink October and my support of all Breast Cancer charities. Those people who know me well know how devastated I still am to have lost my younger sister to BC almost 4 years ago and I feel that I want to share in the Pink month, but, I am most definitely not a pink person. I would never have found a pink subject for every day, and so you will find my pink heart overlaid when I can't find anything!

In October 2011 I told my sister I had signed up to the Moon Walk for the following May. I am not a sporty person and she was amazed, thought I was nuts and I said that if she could do what she had done to fight the cancer I could do this for others. She said that if I did it in 2012 she would join me and we would both do it together in 2013. What we didn't know was that she had a rare form of BC and only a few weeks later on the 11th November she died.

I did the Moon Walk; in a bra that a friend modified for me to make my huge body look half way decent and she made this heart with my sister's initials and sewed it into it. It was such an emotional day and night! I will not do it again and have thrown the bra away, but before I did that I cut out the heart and will never throw that away.

For Julia I will try to remember Pink October every day.

It is now officially 'out of season' both at work, (shorter opening hours) but also here at the coast. From today, dogs are allowed on the local beach, instead of the longer walk to Greatstone. So, after dinner to celebrate National Black Dog Day we took Dog to the beach and threw the ball for ages! He is now fast asleep on the sofa!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.