Basil Blossom and Bee

The journey through camera manual land continues albeit at a snail's pace.  OilMan has done his bit by figuring out what the pattern of the pages printed from the internet actually is and putting it right. (right down his alley as a numbers man) I have yet to be able to read such a thing straight from the screen and get anything out of it. In my college days I kept myself awake taking laboriously prioritized notes using the old fashioned outline method of Roman numerals, capital letters and lower case letters all carefully indented under one another. It looked brilliant and I guess I learned something from it, because I still learn by highlighting and writing things down. 

My note taking skills are more than a little bit rusty five decades later. Maybe it would help if I bought a fountain pen, which is what I used in college. I noticed from the macro demo shot he took of his pen, (extra) that Brian has a fountain pen too.

I had a physiology professor who came in early and put up elaborate notes and diagrams in several colors of chalk on the blackboard (yes, we still had blackboards back in the dark ages of my education). He put my monochrome notes to shame and me in despair until I started carrying a few colored pencils around with me.

Unlike today's grade school kids with backpacks bigger than they are, I didn't really have any books to carry around until I got to Junior High School, when the approved method of conveying them was to  stack  all the  books on top of a binder, and balance the whole precarious pile on one hip. I also carried a handbag, but, although I can remember wanting a popular "doctor bag",  I can't remember how I carried it when I finally got one. No such thing as a backpack, much less a personalized, patterned one, in those days.

But I digress…anything to keep from thinking about the camera manual...

Another macro shot today. The basil blossoms are tiny, but delicately shaped like an orchid. The focus is a lot better on the bee than on the blossom. but at least I figured out how to adjust the d.o.f. (sort of). Thank you for putting up with me while I practice (or until I give up….)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.