Arachne

By Arachne

Redundant

Immediately after I blipped yesterday (in fact I had to press 'submit' before I was quite ready because I was summoned into a meeting) I was made redundant. I've suspected it was coming for quite a while and been pretty certain for the last week, but I haven't known when. I was astonished at how relieved I felt to be released from limbo. There is sadness and there are complications, but I will deal with those later.

Today I have had a great time walking in London. At London Bridge a wind powerful enough to generate electricity buffeted the netting on this building-under-construction. I guess it is supposed to stop building materials falling but, like me, it seems somewhat superfluous.

Nearby I caught some great reflections in another modern building where once upon a time I attended a meeting about helping people to get jobs. Synchronicity, to find myself there today.

I had two pieces of good fortune when I visited some of the great installations at the Festival of the World at the South Bank. One, as a storm overtook us, was to see a momentary shaft of sunlight illuminating St Paul's cathedral and nothing else. Not photoshopped! The other was to get a totally unexpected free ticket for a rehearsal next Tuesday by the Simón Bolívar Symphony Orchestra with Gustavo Dudamel. I've wanted to hear them for years but the concerts sold out months before I realised they were happening. I should be at work next Tuesday but...

Added after seven interesting comments: Which would you have blipped? I didn't choose the 'other modern building' because it is built, so the picture is repeatable. Nor St Paul's because although it was unique and breathtaking its effect depends on me telling you that I snatched a second rather than laboured in photoshop. The one I blipped is unrepeatable as the building will be finished and the red netting removed. What are your criteria?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.