Reunion

I visited the Croatian Embassy today, having been inspired by several blippers' images of that country. Robotics displays prevailed, along with samples of Vegeta salts and stocks, berry teas and cardboard-tasting biscuits. It was the least successful embassy visit I've done this season, partly because I'm not highly interested in robotics and partly because of confusion about the booked 'tour', which didn't eventuate. Oh well. I did pick up a bunch of travel brochures and they might give me a better sense of the country and culture.

Later in the day, after getting lost thanks to GPS, I visited Dalton and Greendale Uniting Church for the closing moments of a family reunion, a five yearly event. I missed the bus tour of local places of interest, but the jumping castle was a great success with the children and Granny. I was able to show the kids four generations of ancestral graves. The oldest was our convict ancestor, who was transported for life in 1833 from Swaffham in Suffolk, UK. He completed 15 years of labour before obtaining land around Dalton. The church hall is in the extra.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.