Realgrumpytyke

By Realgrumpytyke

Ruined in Wharfedale

I thought the sun would never break through today. At 2pm not only was the mist still thick in the valley, and the northern slopes of Wharfedale invisible, but the light was extraordinarily flat, completely unsuitable for the black and white film I intended to use. I resigned myself to colour in the digital but, still hoping the sun would appear, attempted to scan an old film while waiting. Then the scanner went on the blink, so no scanning today; digital it would have to be. I set off at 3.30pm.
Then the sun appeared - shadows not too dark so ideal for black and white!
I set off intending to do about 3 miles (to great, big free range eggs for tomorrow's breakfast, and back); on two walks earlier in the week I found the fourth mile just a bit too much and suffered later. I'd done the 1.1/2 miles to the farm gate where I intended to turn round then I saw a dilapidated building, a stiff climb (for me at the moment) but I could not resist it. Having done a couple of shots I saw another ruin further up the hill so, despite disparaging looks from the sheep, climbed further. After a couple of shots there it was mostly downhill home.
So I managed the fourth mile today and feel fine. Progress!
Couldn't decided which shot to use so put some in as extras.
Olympus Pen E-PL3. Lumix 14mm, f/2.5

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.