Bom

By Bom

Wimbledon Revisited

Today I returned to Wimbledon with my friend A to do a tour and visit the excellent museum.  The tour enables you to visit places you don't normally get to see, like the roof of the broadcast centre and the press office.  We also got to sit on stage in the main interview room and have our photos taken.

I learnt lots of new things from my visit to the museum, like that the Duke of York (later King George VI) once played in the Gentleman's Doubles.  We also got to hold several different rackets from over the years.  The thing that amazed me most was when I picked up a weight representing that of the clothes the first women players used to wear. I'd thought about how restrictive the long skirts etc must have been, but the weight of these clothes was astonishing.

I've included two extras, one of the ivy on centre court in its autumn colours and the other of the topiary cameraman.  If you can't get to Wimbledon during the Championships but love tennis, I'd definitely recommend a tour and visit to the museum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.