Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

Behold a basket of spring greens!

Oh the weather outside is frightful
But the garden is still delightful...


Been tripping round the rain soaked, wind battered garden in my nightie, cutting spinach, little gem lettuce, sorrel, dill, chives, lovage, parsley, thyme, mint and dill. My nightie is muddy, my feet are freezing, but who cares? The kitchen is full of heady aromas and will soon be crowded by lovely people - chatting, laughing and sharing the good things in life. I can't deny the bitter disappointment and hurt of this week's events, but they are in their place, not occupying the whole of my life. It is not the bad stuff that happens to us, nor the bad thoughts about that stuff that count - what counts is how we chose to invest in these thoughts

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.