Just a Thousand!

A real murky day and not one where I wanted to go out and take photos. But today was a day I needed to. 1000 consecutive photos taken. Phew! 

We headed off to Martin Mere this afternoon, for two reasons. I wanted somewhere different for this blip, and it's the time of year when the UK get a huge influx of feathered visitors for the winter. We live only an hour away from one such place - Martin Mere Wetland Centre in Lancashire.

We had a wander around the pools where there are birds from all over the world. These European cranes were so impressive and very elegant, until they opened their beaks. Their call was so loud!

Then we headed over to the bird hides. It's the turn of the pink-footed geese, who are arriving in their thousands. Over about an hour they kept flying around in small groups, but at precisely 6.10pm we heard them. They all arrived together to roost. One of the wardens reckoned there were about 30,000 of them. Take a look at the extra shot which gives some idea of the numbers.

Now what to do after 1000 days.....

I'm thinking of taking a break and blipping occasionally. I find it's taking up more time than I can spare and struggle to engage with the community of blippers. I'd rather post a noteable photograph or event and not have to find just anything to upload. So I'm not disappearing just taking a step back.

Thank you for looking at my journal and photos and apologies for not responding to your comments or taking a look at your photos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.