home again

Visiting my mom last night I could not help taking a photo of the photos in mom's entryway. Steve & me, when we got engaged to be married on the left . .. I think it is so sweet she cherishes this photo and has kept it framed since we gave it to her. Then, a photo of my mom and her brother taken at our wedding on the right. Uncle Stan passed away this June at 92 and that is when I printed the photo and put it in a frame for my mom. I was not sure if it would make her sad when I gave it to her but I followed my gut. She was really happy to have this photo of her and her brother and immediately put it in the entryway. My mom was adopted and her brother 12 years older; I think he always watched out for her. He was so kind and such a gentleman, Steve and I had a lot of good times with him. I still miss talking to him on the phone (he was still in CT)....

Anyway, mom made "tapas" - or heavy hors d'oeuvres, as she said. :o) The most delicious soft creamy cheese with wonderful slices of bread and green olives - yum!  I had made gingerbread and brought some with us, but we filled up on mom's goodies instead with a nice glass of wine. I told her about my trip and Steve told her about the recent boat builds at Lucas Boatworks, the dogs were all milling around and everything was right in my world . . . . happy day to you, I will be around to visit your journals before too long! Oh an extra photo of my mom's centerpiece on the coffee table my dad built. He is with me all the time. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.