Tools of the Trade

Spent a beautiful autumn day cutting down (and cutting up) trees at the BBOWT CS  Lewis Reserve in Oxford.  As always, volunteer days with BBOWT are a mix of pleasure and pain - it's a delight to be out doing something constructive around the reserve, but I always wind up using muscles that I don't usually use.

And to re-introduce a feature from long ago . Today's bird of the day was the kingfisher - which was flitting around the pond at the CS Lewis Reserve regularly while we were at work, flying to within a few feet of where we were standing.

I'm going to finish this entry by dedicating it to Dave Hepper, who's been in my thoughts today.  

Dave was a contemporary - and flatmate - at Bristol University many years ago, and I'd sadly lost touch with him as the years passed.  He died in December, but I only found out yesterday evening.  He was almost solely responsible for my introduction to the beers of Yorkshire. Thank you, Dave. Rest In Peace.

3937

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.