Dark Room Destruction

Today was a little bit sad for me working in the house because of this room and it's history.

What you see in this photograph is one of the bedrooms which was converted into a photography darkroom, maybe in the 1960's. 

As a photographer who started my professional career still using film, a part of me really wanted to keep this wonderful room, but realistically it wasn't a viable option. It was more of a health hazard so today I knocked it down, all I can say is it was incredibly well built and took a lot of effort to bring down.

I must give some credit to Tony (girlfriends dad) who started this destruction yesterday.

Yesterday while clearing this dark room out my girlfriend found a rather cool twin lens medium format camera so will have to blip it at some point. No more major finds in this 150 year old place but have found some hand written journals, a motorcycle number plate that must be 80 plus years old. The previous owner would have been a great person to know, he must have been very handy as there are so many bespoke features throughout the house and especially in this darkroom, things such as handmade lightboxes which made me smile. We have yet to find the money stash though ;)

Mr Bo Hingles
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.