More scrumping

Today has been just as busy as yesterday.

After all of yesterday's apple munching I though I may come in with a weight gain this morning, but in the end I was only 100 g up on last week, but more importantly my 7-day average is a around 200 g lower, so I'm still losing weight but very slowly.

After breakfast we went for a bike ride, nice loop and we made good speed and averaged 23 km/h over the 30 km of the loop, we would have a better average but we lost momentum on two downhills due to traffic and a slow detour on top of on of the hills.

After the bike ride we went to help with maintenance on a meadow in the village. I wasn't happy with the brutal pruning of one of the hedges - a light hair cut was more in order - so I removed nettles and clematis from the rose patch.

When we were done someone mentioned an apple tree in the corner of the meadow in one of the hedges - which there shouldn't have been as we didn't plant one - but low and behold there were two trees one of which was covered in large apples. I took a bite and what I though would be another acidic "cooker", it was in fact a sweet juicy desert apple! So we came back with our "fishing rod apple picker" and collected as many as we could for next week's Orchard Fair we're organising at the community orchard in the village.

Today's blip is a California poppy growing in our front garden. Yesterday I trimmed the bank and during the week my better half cut the wildflwower lawn, so we can now not only see the poppies but even get close enough to take a picture of them. I took this picture after the bike ride and before the work in the meadow.

Now it's time to order an Indian takeaway from the village to celebrate our birthdays, mine last week and my better half's yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.