Morning mist

After yesterday's mountain silhouettes this morning someone had removed them!
Very thick mist as we headed for the marshals' briefing for the Coniston trail runs. We were given the heady job of stopping traffic on the main road (an "A" road even) as the runners doing the 10k run were heading up the fell near the beginning. Once the briefing was done there was a bit of time to get some photos of the lake in the mist (also see the extra) before we started our duties, and once the runners had past we returned to help with the timing chips at the end.
By the time the run started the sun was getting through with increasing frequency and the temperature was rising.
My run was the second of the day and it was quite warm on the long climb up Coppermines Valley until we got on to the more open fellside where there was some air and less sun. I was enjoying myself and got a boost from one of the marshals who knew my name and also a lot of passing and being passed by the same people - we all had our different strengths but I finished ahead of most if not all at the end.
I made sure I didn't fall over in the woods where Mr Rat dislocated his finger last year (though a root tried to trip me up).
Pleased with my time, only a little slower than in Keswick on a course that was slightly shorter but harder.
Mr Rat also did very well on his race and was 1st 60+.
Back to the pub to eat and celebrate later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.