wait just one more shot

By Susanbmathew

So proud

Proud.......

Of my nephew Thom. He ran in the Maine Marathon today. He and his friends did a half marathon. My sister Nancy, niece Jennifer, Thom's friend DB And I went to cheer him on. He ran with his two friends Will and Alyssa. They were so sweet and impressed me with their stamina. 13+ miles are more than you will ever see me run.........wait there are Oreos at the end? Maybe...........
After going to breakfast, I met Ingrid to go shopping for an outfit for our concert on Friday.
Aaaaand the sore throat from the other day has progressed to a full cold. I figure it will go away before THE BIGGEST CONCERT OF MY LIFE!!!! OK deep breath. I am ok.
I tried pushing through it today. That sucked.
Well Ingrid found a shirt or two, and as we were ringing our stuff through the register, the cashier stopped and said:" excuse me I need to take a break for a snack" (although it seriously sounded like snyyyack. ) she then stopped what she was doing, pulled out a candy bar broke off a piece and ate it, chewing it very fast. She then went back to being a cashier finished ringing us out. As Ingrid ran her card the cashier again went back to eating her candy bar and handing us the receipt, not missing a beat. As we left. I looked at Ingrid and we wondered if that really happened!
Shopping, not for the weak.

So in closing,
I am so proud of my nephew. I looked at his age and almost passed out. Where did this time go? Memories of him in a green onesie pajama, bouncing in his Johnny jump up flash through my brain like a movie. I used to make him laugh by making duck sounds........Hmmmmm if I did that now he would take me to the nearest ER for an exam!
As always,
G'Day downunder and goodnight to the north....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.