Friday Foto

By drmackem

Hokusai says keep changing

.......You just get more who you really are.

Hokusai Says #5 by Roger Keys


So I come on holiday - you know "holiday"- a rest from work,  and MrsM says lets hire some bikes, and I'm thinking, that would be nice - I could tootle off and get pastries and the like when the urge comes. So we turn up on our first day to rent bikes and I should have known when I left the hire shop with the full carbon that I'd let myself in for more than confectionary based errands.
The following day, she suggested a wander over an undulating little road - and here's me thinking undulating is - like undulating, but apparently it involves 6000ft of ascent and some of those switch back descents with drops down to the ocean that they put in car adverts - or Bond movies - my third time out on a road bike in over 30 years!. There were times when I was undecided wether to close my eyes for fear, or not blink for fear.
So today I insisted on my version of undulating - you know like the one out of the dictionary and it was all lovely and we had a lunch stop by the sea, and a beer and cake in an arty cafe and then we parked the bikes in the town square and watched the kids play, and the great knitathon for Syria refugees and it was so warm and we had olives and bread and oil while they fired up the grill to cook dinner whilst darkness settled and the children, now tired headed home with their chattering mums, and I like cycling second time around.


MrsM is planning another trip out before, I repeat before breakfast to a monastery on the bikess, I'll ring ahead and ask them to pray for me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.