KariDi

By KariDi

Never meet your heroes, they say....

So, I made this, fancy, sparkly, bunting necklace at Tatty Devine's Glasgow workshop. Tatty Devine are my heroes cos they make unapologetically funky, feminist, iconic jewellery. And that is cool.

I then legged it along to the launch of National Theatre of Scotland's Rockvilla fundraising drive - which is an amazing development. And clearly NTS totally rock.

And at NTS, I managed to, possibly (so, probably not), contain my fangirling to reasonable levels in the presence of a good portion of Deacon Blue as well as Greg Hemphill and Blythe Duff and other lovely people I was too short to spot, and the fab NTS staff. And though 'Dignity' is one of my all time favourite anthems, there are others that contributed more to my personal philosophical, political, development (which I failed to mention in the presence of Ricky Ross):

Fergus Sings the Blues
"All
Things are possible
But happen less and less
This
Is my country
These
Are my reasons"

Wages Day
"And this long, narrow land
Is full of possibility
All to do and only hours
He said, All this is all yours"

Sometimes singers sing what's in your heart before you even know it. So, never meet your heroes? Nah. How else would you confirm their awesome-ness?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.