Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Stately, home

Had lunch here today - another birthday treat - at the Caledonian Club, this rather splendid building in Belgravia with the saltire hanging, somewhat limply in the drizzle, above the entrance. No stringy stew or spotted dick here: we ate wonderful pink roast beef with perfectly cooked accompaniments (including dark, glossy cabbage), smoked trout as a starter, Orkney tablet with our coffee. The waiters in their tartan trews may have been from various European origins, but the maitre d' was pure Glasgow and first rate.

I must say I thoroughly enjoy the experience of eating - or staying - here; it's like nothing else I've done and I feel I'm playing at being someone else.

Back to normal life tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.