Jeanettie6

By Jeanettie6

Soggy in Portsmouth

This is not a good picture, but it rained so much yesterday on my day out in Portsmouth, that I kept the camera under my zipped up coat while I was outside in the driving rain. 

I'd caught the 6.45 a.m. train from Waterloo (well...it was only £2 return!), so arrived there early.  I'd planned to walk along to Southsea, then on to Eastney and back, like I usually do, but I only got as far as Southsea and my jeans, shoes and backpack were soaked, my umbrella was blowing inside and out like a flapping bird!  I sat down on a wet bench in a shelter, which overlooked the sea to eat my lunch...but it was too windy and rainy to face the sea, so I had to sit and admire parked cars and the road, and occasionally, peering through the dirty, wet glass at the side of me to watch the hovercraft coming in.  I must have looked a sad, soggy sight, with my hood tied up tight around my face, trying to eat a chicken noodle salad, gracefully, with a small plastic fork!  I'm sure the people who were sitting parked in their cars, staring out to sea, must have been laughing at the poor, bedraggled woman with noodles hanging from her mouth and one, attached, like a brooch to my coat!

Anyroad! (as LadyG would say)  Apart from my sogginess and the persistent rain, day out I enjoyed my day out (and dried off in a very warm cafe, overlooking the marina, with medicinal Dorset Apple Cake and Clotted Cream, which prevents hypothermia...apparently).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.