Spoor of the Bookworm

By Bookworm1962

You are many, they are few

Up dark and early and off on the Oxford People's Assembly coach to Manchester to confront the Tories at their conference. I decided that unlike previous marches where I have taken the shorter "mobility problems" route, this time I'd do the whole thing. It wasn't a long route by demo standards, just a little over 2 miles but as I have trouble walking 50 yards it was a bit daunting, but I really, really wanted to be there and to be part of the whole thing not just the rally at the end...and I made it! Hands red, blistered and (slightly) bleeding from the unforgiving handles of my crutches, back and legs screaming but buoyed up by the amazing energy, anger, hope and solidarity of the thousands of other marchers. Toward the end I suddenly found myself walking toward fellow blipper Lookseeclick ( https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2097754398594697922 ) ! I knew she'd be there but in a crowd of 80,000 what are the odds! I've got to know Anne on blip and on facebook over the last couple of years and it was a real pleasure to finally meet her, I'm only sorry that it was toward the end of the march and between concentrating on taking each step and trying to keep up with the rest of the Oxford contingent we really didn't have much of an opportunity to say more than "hello". I look forward to next time.

For some reason I'm having trouble posting extra pictures here so here a couple of links to more of my pictures of the day
https://www.facebook.com/nrwood1/posts/10153189315441911
https://www.facebook.com/nrwood1/posts/10153189330241911

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.