A Policman's Lot...

...at the Peterborough Antiques Fair!  This was just one of the hundreds of fascinating stalls at this huge bi-annual event. This stall had other police memorabilia including a selection of antique truncheons! (I'm sure they had cuff-links too, but we won't go there!)

First used by the Metropolitan Police in 1863, the custodian helmet was based on the spiked Pickelhaube worn by the Prussian army. Stronger and more protective, it replaced the top hats that were formerly in use.
It was originally made of cork covered by felt or serge-like materials, it is now manufactured in reinforced plastic and  apparently it is still worn by male constables and sergeants on most forces in England and Wales, which set their own policy on headgear for use on the beat but it is not used by police in Scotland or Northern Ireland.

B and I had a fab day at the fair, we were there for hours and still didn't see it all, if you enjoy antiques it's a must, I'd not been before, but I'm definitely a convert.  I went with a reasonable budget but I must be either very discerning (or fussy) as I only spent £5 on an old bucket to use as a planter in my garden! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.