In The Cab

Basil and I met Margaret at Loughborough Station on the Great Central Railway. It was the Autumn Steam Event with several steam engines running up and down the line to Leicester North (Birstall) and back.

We had coffee at Birstall before coming back to Quorn and the Butler-Henderson cafe for baked potato lunch. Basil got thoroughly dusty walking around the goods yard at Quorn.

It wasn't very busy because it was only Friday. The star attraction had developed a firebox fault and had to be repaired. It was doing test runs before the weekend. I bet the driver and engineers were enjoying that. They were letting the engine rip and pass at speed through the station.

At one point, I went down a slope at the end of the platform to get an uninterrupted view of it arriving. I was subsequently challenged for my disgraceful behaviour of 'getting in the way.' The fact that I was shorter than my protagonist seemed to have escaped his notice.

I didn't take many photos and was more interested by people shots than of steam engines. I rather like this one.

It was another gorgeous day in this Indian Summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.