Musings

By Mumma

Needles at the ready

When I had my first baby, I know they cried, but I didn't know that young babies cried for prolonged periods with no discernible cause. Child health professionals have now dubbed that stage 'the period of purple crying' and are hoping that by explaining that it is a normal stage of a baby's development will stop babies being shaken in frustration, or fear.

I didn't shake my babies, I got through by singing 'shuttupa your face' to them. Cruel and unusual punishment indeed, but they survived.

Children's Hospital at London Health Sciences Centre want to publicise the theory by giving babies In hospitals and public health units purple knitted baby hats in November, and are asking for donations. I am happy to donate a hat which might prevent a baby from being shaken, or might reassure a new mum.

The colour of the wool looks quite blue in the photo, but it is a lovely rich purple and I can't wait to get started.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.