Something Spectacular

I have participated in my first ever agility competition today! I almost can't believe it myself.

We were at the dog club this morning, working on tunnels after our walk, so I thought that was it for today. But in the late afternoon, we went back again. This time, it turned out, it was for the club championships, and mum had entered the pair of us in the "blueberry" or rookie class! She claims she has regretted doing so all day, but at six sharp, we were there and ready.

Oh, my. It was so much more complicated than anything we've ever done. Mum had to memorise the course, fifteen hurdles and tunnels with combinations and sharp turns. Then we had two runs. My first one was really good, I ran super fast and did everything right, except that I ran off and rounded a judge at one point. Not allowed. The second one I started with a lap of honour, and then we had to do some jumps twice. I think I was over excited. But we completed both races from start to finish and got lots of applause and sausage. Morris the chow chow also raced. Like most of the other newbie dogs in our class, none of us got an official time because we made mistakes. But that wasn't the purpose of it all today.

Mum says she's very proud of me and says I was very brave. We are both super happy and exhausted tonight. I have been promised takeout from The Golden Seagull some time in the immediate future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.