Mostly Six Five Oh

By nhc

Tower of Babel

At the V&A, one of my favorite museums.  We were here to see an exhibit by Barnaby Barford called the Tower of Babel, the artist had bicycled all around London photographing neighborhood shops and then fired the images onto bone china models of the buildings, and finally created a tower out 3,000 of the shops (he'd photographed more than 6,000).  A small sample of the tiny shop models here, it was a wonderful thing, every time I went around the structure I'd see something I'd missed, opera glasses were available so you could see right to the top of the tower.  After lunch at the V&A café we headed to Soho to the Photographers' Gallery to see an exhibition of photographer Shirley Baker's work called Women and Children and Loitering Men which I really enjoyed.  From there a trip to John Lewis on Oxford Street, a visit to London is not complete without it, tea and cake (lemon drizzle) in their café before browsing - I didn't find anything I wanted to buy.  Dinner at Zédel, duck confit, profiteroles - delish.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.