Together

I chose to take this photo for a very important reason.  I wanted a recent photo of me and my girl....together.  I wanted to feel the love.  I wanted to hold her tight and NEVER let her go.  

On this day.....in a small community, a gunman reeked havoc on a community college.  He killed 9 people and then himself.  He injured many, many more.  He took lives......ruined futures.....hurt bodies......damaged souls......broke hearts.  It isn't fair....there is no sense in it.  I will never understand.  I will never say his name, and I refuse to read one thing about him.  I will focus on the heros...victims...and first responders.  

Sugar's school had planned an "active shooter drill" for that day....but abandoned it when a real life situation occurred.  It felt too real.  It was strange how I spent some time that morning thinking about the purpose in such school drills....and then to have an actual shooting so close to home.....it freaked me out, and I could hardly attend to my work.  

I was sooooo happy to get my hands on my girl, and to give her all the love I could.  I felt such empathy for those who would NOT be holding their loved one ever again.  I simply can not imagine. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.