History on a soda siphon

One of the advantages of working at the local Historical Association research room is that people bring you things you might like in the collections. We tend to keep the paper archives and the museum the objects so I have photographed this find for our records and the siphon will go to the museum along with one for Nelson Breweries.In the mean time I get a blip from this found in  someones shed after their mother died.
The Motueka Cordial Factory was run Eric Redmond. He was a friend of my fathers and I have photos of them dressing up for parades through town and getting about in an old car in the 1940's and 50's. We have photos of some of the labels Eric used as well.
This was taken in my new studio. New in that instead of sitting objects on the freezer by the door where I often get unwanted reflections I have shifted further into the garage in front of the upright freezer with black blanket draped over it and an old gas heater to stand the thing on. A much better light and better height to work at. The tripod sits better there too.
The siphon is very thick heavy glass and the top is stuck fast.The siphon part runs right through the middle to the bottom of the bottle. I have shown the top in an extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.