Male Red Shafted Northern Flicker

Had a hard time choosing which photo to post today. Both were taken through the kitchen window as the birds gathered at the feeders. I decided on this one and will post the other one of the two Redwing Blackbirds if I can find one to delete.

I did a bunch of stuff at home including the wash today and had no intention to leave the house. Until... I realized that I had to go to the Social Security office. I brought stuff to do with me because I was expecting a long wait before I got served. Turned out not to be too bad. I was still not amused though as Arvin and I had mailed in a request to do something over two months ago and had not heard anything. And it hadn't been done. So I called and they said I had to do this in person. I asked why they had the form if it didn't do what it said it did. The gal gave me a vague reason that didn't seem to make sense. 

Part of what I was doing was to officially take over Arvin's financial responsibilities regarding SS. I brought along my power of attorney but they said they didn't take those. (What?!) Instead all I needed was my id and the clerk filling a request out that I didn't even have to sign. I had to explain why and give the names and numbers of his doctors. That was it. This is supposed to cut down on fraud. In my opinion it does the opposite. The power of attorney is a strongly checked and legal way to handle somebody's financial affairs. The interview seemed weak and easily fudged to me. But what do I know? 

Luckily the gal that waited on me was nice and clear and easy to work with. This is good because I was not in my top good mood when I got there. Not being able to get there directly due to continued interminable tear up of the main street we get into town on, on which the office is located, didn't help. The street has been a total mess all summer and I'm getting really tired of it. But I left feeling better since the deed was done and only took about an hour including getting there and getting home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.