Oxford Street

We went to London to see Photograph 51, a play in which Nicole Kidman plays Rosalind Franklin who took the Xray Crystallography images of DNA in the 1950s from which Watson & Crick deduced the structure of DNA.  

They got a Nobel prize but her contribution was largely unrecognised in the sexist, mysogynistic atmosphere of the time.

It is a fascinating story but a little sad.  In fact,  Nicole Kidman was genuinely quite upset in the last scene and left the stage in tears.  Powerful stuff!

We visited the National Portrait Gallery which I have never visited previously despite living in London for 5 years as a student.

I took my little Sony Nex-6 with me but didn't have many photo opportunities.  This rather blurred image was taken from the top of a bus going down Oxford Street.  I wanted a long exposure to give a sense of movement.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.