RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Car Repair

Our SUV has over 160,000 miles (257,000km) on it and needed a little TLC. A friend at the apartments hooked me up with Beto a mechanic he has used for a number of years and the owner of a small shop in town. I'm not sure it was wise, but I told Beto to perform a tune-up and take care of any other problems. He said no problem, come back at 16:00 and it would be ready. I arrived at the appointed time to find my vehicle in many, many pieces. Turns out it needed new brake pads, new shock connectors, and a number of other things I didn't quite understand in his rapid fire Spanish (but all of which were itemized on the final bill). He also needed another hour to finish all this unexpected work, so I settled in, on the shop floor in a chair he dug up, to watch the proceedings. I couldn't resist getting the above shot of Beto pounding away on a sticky bolt, while his assistant, dressed in beach attire, uses one of my tires to pour in the new oil. If I have said it once, I've said it a thousand times: "you wouldn't see that in the United States". Our vehicle should now be in tip top shape for the drive to Puerto Vallarta next month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.