Woodland Wander/Wonder!

Took Lucy into the woods today -we have not been there in a while - I have not had the energy nor inclination for long walks and neither has she! But today we were both inspired! The woods smelt lovely and earthy - the smell of rotting leaves making a fine scent to walk through! We found no mushrooms of any description which surprised me. It was beautifully quiet as there was no Radio 4 playing to deter foxes from the garden due to free ranging chickens! They were all in their coop run so the owners must have been away.
On return I cleaned the fish tank - damselflies were not the only things that came in on the plants I bought a long while ago - snails came too! These have now reached a population explosion and every time I pass the tank I fish several out! Also had to take the plants out and wash them as the snails have laid eggs on them  in gelatinous small round patches!
Mad dash out the  house this evening to be in the pub before the Birthday Girl ( 50th !)  - only after weeks of utter secrecy one damn fool said to her today " see you at the pub for your party meal!" There always has to be one. The same one who let Vegan Jo know what we were all secretly buying her for a wedding gift! I think maybe we should arrange a party for this blabbermouth - and then none of us turn up - maybe that would teach her to keep stum! Am I just being a tad mean?!  The birthday girl was ok about it as she went home to change rather than turning up in her welly boots straight from her work as a landscape gardener! All her presents were garden themed! I said for her 60th she should develop a passion for something else to be themed for - diamonds? Exotic fish? Monet?!!!!
It was pie and a pint night in the pub - only 2 of us had the mediterranean veg pie and chips - everyone else was steak or chicken - I wore my chicken T-Shirt and made sure everyone saw it although I had to tell Vegan Jo's husband to be careful which chicken he stared at - poor man blushed bright red! 
I now think I have indigestion and am off for a cup of peppermint tea! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.