A Writer's Life

By Awriterslife

Tiny ears

Olivier has been coughing for a while now, so today, I decided to trust my instinct and take him to his doctor even though he didn't have a fever. It turns out he has a nasty double ear infection. So he is having his first antibiotics at 14 months.

See, I don't trust myself. I doubt everything I feel or think. I tend to believe the worst in me, and to favor what other people think instead of what makes sense for me. So today was a rather big deal. Aside from a few crying moments, a runny nose and the cough, Olivier looked ok. but I knew something was off. The doc has said to bring him in if he has 3 days of fever, as fever indicates infection. But he's my son. His body doesn't do normal, I guess, like mine. Don't get me wrong: I would have rather him not be sick. But I'm happy that I trusted what I felt and knew of my little boy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.