The second half of life..

By twigs

Tui 1

Had a great night's sleep though was woken a couple of times by the persistent wind.  You get that round here at this time of the year.  It was easy to roll over and return to my slumbers though.

D-Day........marking........I made a bargain with myself - complete 10 papers before you can go outside to 'play'.  The first 6 or so were easy-ish then each one got gradually more difficult as I maintained less and less focus.  I did eventually make it to 10 - then surpassed my own goal and managed 13 :)  Tomorrow's 10 should be easier.

So to play time.   A quick walk around the camping area to the other side of the bridge to sit and wait for the tuis (mental note - bring insect repellant next time.  The sand flies were thick!)  The tuis came - all  3 or 4 of them - sporadically.  A bell bird too :)  It's definitely not quite the right time for them yet.  If it were, there would be 2-dozen or so zipping in and out and enjoying the feast.  I noticed they were feeding from very low down the flower heads today.  I guess the lower sections are the first to open up and reveal their delicious nectar.  Cerainly at other times I've seen them they've been feeding from much higher up the flower.

The light was also very flat today due to the thickening cloud (even a few drops of rain this evening) so his iridescent feathers look rather dull.  Still, I feel I'm on the right track with them.  Hopefully tomorrow he (or his buddies) will feed in beautiful sunshine away f rom the bright sky background too.

Another early night - relatively wind-less this time. 

I think I'll probably be back again next weekend though ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.