wsjohnson

By wsjohnson

you got 80 days mon ami

Long time ago, heck it wasn't that long ago, back in 1977 I was strolling through the city cemetery in Topeka (Kansas) and there was this rather curious sign/notice on the gates of the entrance: "The Honest Need No Watchman" I wondered why it was placed there, but being a bit of a 'slouch' I never got around to inquiring as to the why and because behind it.

Never forgot it - obviously - but never asked about it either

A while back (again) I was in Edinburgh, down below the castle walking through that cemetery (can't recall the name) and remembered that sign in Topeka to a gentle-woman placing flowers on one of the ancient (in my mind) tombs there - okay, "tombs" might be an exaggeration, but if you've been there you know what I mean and she related a tale about people back in the "old days" who would come to the graveyard after midnight and steal the corpses for the purpose of selling them on to medical schools

Strange thought that, but anyway, she informed me that some famous writer based his stories/books on the events and that the local constabulary even had undercover operatives working the grounds in hopes of catching them in the act.

My mind is sort of fried now, or I could put the name of the writer guy before you, he's pretty well known, oh well, gives me something to think about tonight!

Here in Coventry, the London Road Cemetery has a lot of busted/broken crypts and burial places (wrong term I know, apology offered) where if so inclined, removing the dead would be easy peasy

Reckon that's why the lock on the chapel door

Decent day this, Steffi has her wits about her it seems, and her own playlist on the iPod (Goodbye Sir Tom), optimism - I can finally state happily - reigns supreme. 

And oh yeah, before I forget,  the "person to whom I'm related by marriage" wears a smile, "Her Lewis" is strutting once more and She has a brand spanking new John Lewis to "explore" up in Birmingham 

- Christmas shopping has arrived - 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.