Jeanettie6

By Jeanettie6

Devon

I had a lovely day trip to Devon yesterday (another bargain journey!)  I caught a coach down to Exeter and arrived early afternoon.  I then got on a train to Teignmouth.  I really enjoy that journey, as the line travels along right by the sea, so some great views as you travel along (oh good Lord!, sorry, I sound like a rail enthusiast...and I do sometimes wear an anorak too).  It was the line that was partly swept away at Dawlish, during the severe storms a while ago, but has been repaired, thankfully.

No storms yesterday and much better weather than Portsmouth a couple of days before.  I had a walk round Teignmouth, then caught the small passenger ferry boat across to Shaldon village, which is very pretty.  After a couple of hours, I got a train back to Exeter, where I had just over an hour to spare before catching a train back home, so walked down to the Quay, just as the sun was setting before travelling back to London.  I didn't get home til nearly midnight, so was too tired to blip.

It's so beautiful down there, well worth the long journey. No wonder madchickenwoman and Gilesy love living down there so much, lucky ladies!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.