Abstract Thursday

Cancer Is So Limited

They’ve sentenced you with invisible cells that
embed themselves deep in body recesses and multiply:
lymphatic assault on vital functions.
 
Can cancer conquer you?
I doubt it, for the strengths I see in you have
nothing to do with cells and blood and muscle.
 
 
For cancer is so limited---
It cannot cripple love.
It cannot shatter hope.
It cannot corrode faith.
It cannot eat away peace.
It cannot destroy confidence.
It cannot kill friendship.
It cannot shut out memories.
It cannot silence courage.
It cannot invade the soul.
It cannot reduce eternal life.
It cannot quench the spirit.
It cannot cancel Resurrection.
 
Can cancer conquer you?
I doubt it, for the strengths I see in you have
nothing to do with cells and blood and muscle.
 
© 2007 by Robert L. Lynn



Three themes rolled into one for today's blip.  This morning I took a close-up study of my beautiful African Violet, which looks gorgeous with the sun filtering through the kitchen blind onto it.  I've played around with the image using an effect I discovered in one of the free online photo editors - it's really absorbing to find out which are the best/easiest to use and what each one can do.  As the flowers are sugar pink and it's October, I'm dedicating this journal entry to Breast Cancer Awareness Month.  Finally, as it's also National Poetry Day in the UK, I've included a poem which was written in 2007 to comfort and encourage a friend of the poet who had terminal cancer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.