Off Centre

By RachelCarter

Lot o' Feet

Today's been one of those annoying days loaded with intentions but actually spent mostly trying to shake off a migraine and plodding about with laundry. I've been waking up at 4am and lying awake for hours convincing myself I'm totally useless recently. There's nothing like giving yourself a hard time for keeping you awake. Richard says I was talking in my sleep last night. I've never been known to do that before - but at least it means I did sleep at some point!
It's like a never-ending circle: I feel crap so I don't do enough to make me feel like a better mother and more worthwhile person so I sleep badly and get run down and carry on feeling crap.

I was deeply peeved to find my newly sown veg patch had been dug up by a cat overnight and felt too unwell to do anything about it. (I don't know why I chose the word "peeved"!) Goodness knows whether we'll get any carrots now.

Mum came over to see us for a couple of hours early evening by which time I'd taken enough painkillers to kick the headache.

Tess was cute today - she decided she didn't want to talk but wanted instead to practise her word-processing and typed everything she had to say for about an hour. As a chatty person she found this an enormous challenge. We managed a bit of time outside but it wasn't very pleasant. I'm impressed with her passion for nature and bugs - and her confidence at picking almost anything up and letting it crawl all over her. She was considering a pet slug the other day.
The teens were less invisible than usual, so that was nice too. Joel impressed me by running after an old man who left £20 in the cashpoint machine today. I'm very proud of my lovely children who have turned out well despite my episodes of floppiness.

It's been raining non-stop for hours. Again.

We're kind of half-watching the Baz Luhmann film: Australia with Nicole Kidman in. It's a bit bloody long.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.