WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

The walnut tree

We've only been here a week and I am already unreasonably fond of the gnarled, blasted walnut tree in the garden -- its dramatic shape appeals to me, as do the shadows it casts in the late afternoon. The main trunk has long ago been shattered, but it's still bearing fruit; we have collected a few windfalls. I had a pleasant hour sitting reading in its dappled shade. I thought I was going to have to go and collect S this evening, but he phoned to say he was sleeping in the refuge at Goriz tonight. So there was no barrier to wine and pan con tomate again.

Oh, and Nadiyaaaa! I did enjoy GBBO last night, and I couldn't believe that even Ms Berry got choked up and had to hurry off camera. It made me feel less bad about crying over a cake competition. It's been lovely to follow Nadiya over the weeks as she grew in confidence, and I didn't mind at all that the result of the final was pretty much a foregone conclusion. Who's betting on her getting a show of her own?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.