my name is - May

jewellery designer, educator, owner of the shop of interest Glasgow.

best on the black background........

........................................
thank you all for your hearts, stars, the comments today and over the last weeks and months, I very much appreciate hearing what people think of my efforts ... May's picture, as are several of my portraits , very dark, only really viewable against a dark background and with little ambient light - they are simply something I have been experimenting with for some time - an absence of light rather than the well lit portraits that are a bit more conventional. I'm not being arty or clever, I honestly just like the tonal range, the way May's face appears out of the darkness, the subtlety of dark tones and wee highlight that-that brings ... 

Terry below mentioned Rembrandt's style, I have always hugely enjoyed his dark sketches/portraits, I saw some of them in his house in Amsterdam some years ago and was captivated by the way he used darkness to create his portraits and not just light ... that all sounds a bit arty-farty as I read it back!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.