Neck and Neck ......who is going to win?

As we came in from fishing this morning, I spotted these two Western grebes who seemed to be in a race. They are diving birds, so I wasn't sure I would get my shot of the two together before one or the other turned downward!

No fish caught that I could see today.  For those of you concerned about too many fish being caught, don't be concerned; there are quotas and the state keeps track of how many fish have been caught, there are many rules to protect the species. Right now we cannot keep Coho Salmon caught in the ocean and only the hatchery Cohos caught in the bay. (We caught a beautiful native Coho this morning, but we had to release it. )  All Chinook can be kept now, but only until a certain number are caught. Each person can only tag two salmon a day and the fish counter checks everyone who comes in to see what was caught. There are big fines for making a mistake and keeping the wrong fish!

Thanks for your kind comments and stars for my successful fishermen yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.