Highly Unsprung

By CynicalWench

New Start

So today was the beautiful summers day I took a day off from my work-a-day job....to go try bag another one.

I took my time driving through the countryside; wanted to just soak it all up and distract myself from any cheeky nerves that were starting to punch above their weight. At the riverside in Ellon, I really wished I could just sit there and enjoy the sound of the water and the sunshine bouncing off the tiny white horses, but not today.

I've never done an assessment centre before. When you all come face to face with each other, all the candidates for the job in one room, it's a bit like a tea break inbetween international diplomatic negotiations. Politeness, general chit chat and curiosity and wariness in equal measure. And then the set task is suddenly upon you. You try to stay calm, read the instructions, hatch a plan, keep focused and get the written task done to time. Miraculously, time seemed to be kind to me. And then some more time on my hands before it was my turn to give a presentation and be interviewed. So I had some puppy time. Nothing like a poop scoop session to ground you before an interview. And then it was back to it. Presentation delivered, a fair amount of questions fully answered and a few questions of my own asked and it was done. If found myself back standing at the riverside, watching the water flow.

Back home just in time to see the kids, newly home after their walk up from the village, standing side by side, marvelling at a Beautiful Flutterby. And I hoped I would get good news, as I needed to see the kids have these moments more. And not just be the mad woman that shouts at them in the morning to get up, disappears for long days and into the evening, and shouts at them in the evening to pack their bags, if I see them at all. And soon after that moment the phone went. Good tidings, an offer made and accepted.

I have a new job. All thanks to the power of M&S own brand spanx (interview nerves = more toilet visits = losing more weight trying to de-spanx and then re-spanx, win win ladies!), local bank holidays (allowing me to do some decent prep) and a friend posting the opportunity on facebook (thank you L).

Picture by Tessie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.