My Mini Adventure

By JJ46

Funny old day!

N and I both had different days from the norm today. I forgot to take any photos at all so here you have N's shot of the Business Design Centre in Islington where he attended the TES Special Needs Show. The roof is fabulous!

I was at work as normal in the morning but then headed off to King's College Hospital for a follow-up MRI scan after my spinal surgery in 2012. I've been trying to phone them for weeks now to talk about it in light of my pregnancy but no-one ever answered the phone so I went up there with lots of questions. The outshot of it all is that I had a basic scan but I refused to have the contrast injection as they couldn't give me enough reassurance that it would be safe for baby. I think it was the right decision. If the pictures aren't clear enough I know I'll have to have another after baby's born. I just couldn't justify the risk.

All through the scan baby was jumping about like crazy! It must have been very loud for her even though she's protected in my belly and amniotic fluid. They propped me up so the bottom half of my body was on my left side (safest for oxygen flow to baby) but my top half was flat on the bed... not comfy and very tricky to lie still and my leg fell asleep! All good fun! All that after a really, really long wait!

On the way home I got cornered and shouted at by a nutter on the train... to start with I thought he had Tourette's but it was different to that when he got into my face and ranted loudly in a foreign language. No-one else in the crowded carriage would make eye contact with me. I managed to get off at the next station... very scary indeed. Amazed that I didn't cry!

Just made it home in time for a quick turnaround and out to my parents' golf club's quiz... we came 6th out of around 20 teams, so not bad. Frustratingly, prizes were awarded for 5th and above!

A very busy day. I just didn't take any photos - too distracted. So tired too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.