The stonemasons who are working at Lansdown Hall

I had to go to Lansdown Hall and Gallery to pick up some tables we need for the Neighbourhood Plan pop-up shop next week.  While I was there I met with Sue, the manager, top find out how the building works were going. The scaffolding was taken down earlier in the week so that the stonemasons could finish their work on the areas that were difficult to access when the scaffold was in place.

The building looks amazing now that two sides have been washed clean and with the new gutters and their downpipes in place it looks so much better.  The masons have done a really good job of repairing the worst of the damaged stonework   But they have done repairs all over the building, but especially the bottom rails of the stone window frames which you might be able to see in the picture. Today the man on the right was finishing off the window just behind the portable scaffold on the right hand side of the picture.

They were having a break for lunch when I started to take some pictures for the record which I have been keeping for some years.  I spoke to them and thanked them for all that they had done.  They drive up from Weston-super-Mare each day, which is about forty miles away, so it isn't an easy job for them. But they seem pleased to be able to restore this building and I explained that we are regenerating it as the 'village hall' for Stroud's  community.

They didn't seem to mind when I asked if I could grab a picture of them all together.  I will show it to my fellow councillors and probably we will put it on our website as part of the ongoing story. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.