LadyPride

By LadyPride

Chorlton blues

We had a God awful night's sleep as Squidge was running a temperature. Hot, cold, in her bed, in our bed, wetting the bed....poor thing. Angus remarked this morning that he wasn't sure he'd actually slept at all.

He was working today so I told him to take the car as I imagined we wouldn't be going anywhere with her in that state. But after a shower she seemed a bit fresher. And I was bored of being stuck in the house. The problem here is unlike when we lived in Chorlton there isn't anywhere to just pop out to, to break the monotony on days like this.

Everything is a real trek here. So trek we did in the end, up to Alderley Edge to the kids library and to Botanist for lunch. A bowl of chips and a new Barbie doll later (see pic) and Squidge seemed a lot brighter. But I wasn't ready to go home for another afternoon of endless cartoons and duvets so I made the decision to catch the train to East Didsbury and walk with the buggy to Chorlton in the hope that she'd fall asleep. Which she did!

Felt spaced out and tired but with my headphones on and a decent soundtrack, the time passed quickly.

And it did her the world of good. Angus drove through Chorlton on the way back and met us at the park. She was happy to see him but I was feeling blue. Chorlton looked amazing in the Autumn sun, vibrant and generally just it's wonderful Chorlton self. I miss it terribly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.