Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Ruby-crowned Kinglet

I had a devil of a time catching a photo of this little bird. It was flitting about in the maple tree in front of our house, and I was on the phone - talking to #2 Son - looking out the window in the door when I noticed something moving quickly around amidst the thick leaves. So I grabbed my camera, juggled the phone between my ear and shoulder [as one does] and tried to snap some photos, if only just to see what it was. I'm pretty sure it's a Ruby-crowned Kinglet, just migrating thru. I generally see one or two at this time of year. No hint of a ruby crown in any of the shots I got - maybe next time! Last year I got a fabulous shot of one at the window facing what he thought was a rival [ his reflection] and flashing his crown.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.