WEEPING WINDOW - Poppies at Woodhorn Museum

I had heard that the Woodhorn Museum near Ashington was the first venue outside of London to present The Weeping Window - one of the elements of the poppy display originally shown at the Tower of London.  However I wrote off paying a visit as I didn't think I would be able to get there by public transport.  However a few days ago I found out that a special bus had been laid on to take passengers from Ashington directly to the Museum.

So I set off this morning on my journey.  Bus to Newcastle then a bus to Ashington ( an hours journey ).  My intention was to get the special bus to the Museum however when I got to the bus stop I faced a 30 min wait for the next bus.  I overheard 2 men ahead of me in the queue saying they were going to walk - so I asked if I could accompany them. ( I didn't used to be this confident )  I had no clue of the route but I didn't mind walking along with them as they knew exactly where to go.  So we set off - together with their 2 dogs  - and got to the Museum in around 30 mins.

The Museum is free to enter and there were lots of people around.  The poppies were a lovely sight. Several thousand ceramic poppies cascading 55 feet from the winding wheel - a relic of the old colliery.  In my extra shots there are a cuple of other views of the display a view of the display and also some lovely swans I saw on my walk to the Museum - we passed through Queen Elizabeth II Jubilee Country Park - a local nature reserve.

After my visit I got the shuttle bus back to Ashington and then a bus to Newcastle.  Town was absolutely packed with rugby fans - mostly Scottish as Scotland were playing Samoa at St James Park.  I have never seen so many men in kilts.  The atmosphere was great as Scotland had won the match.

Did a bit of shopping in town before coming home.  Managed to buy a " Melon Baller " in T K Maxx for £1.  I had been looking for one for one for a while but all the ones I saw were expensive so I was glad to get this bargain.  ( I don't want it to make melon balls by the way - its for something I might make for my slimming club Taster Night - all MAY be revealed if the idea goes well.)

Must have been tired as this evening I kept falling asleep in front of the TV.  Didn't even post this blip till 3am  - and didn't get round to doing any comments.

Steps today - 13,015

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.