Minggu duduk

I spent about 10 hours sitting in this coffee shop, which is what the locals do in the absence of much other entertainment. Drinking is prohibited in Aceh Province and people stay in the coffee shop until late into the evening, rowdily chatting, watching films on their laptops and smoking furiously. It felt odd being one of the first to leave as in Cambodia the streets mostly felt eerily deserted by about 8.30pm.

I had about 6 hot drinks (mostly not coffee or I'd be too jittery to type this), two waters and a plate of snacks, and it came to less than £1.50. That is ridiculous even by Banda Aceh's standards. Food and drink at other places isn't actually that cheap, so I am not sure how this sector of the economy supports itself. I cost them more in electricity than I spent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.