cathybenucci

By cathyben17

My brother Frank

This is not a photo of mine... I have been thinking alot about my brother.

Today would have been the 75th birthday of my wonderful brother Frank Mumford. He was born with a hole in the heart and a leaky valve, back in the 1940s heart surgery was pioneering and Frank had his first operation under Dr Bonham Carter at the age of 6 in Great Ormond Street hospital. I remember my mother telling me the doctor told her that he would only live to the age of 8. The operation was a success and Frank recovered well from this operation, but unfortunately he needed another operation when he was in his late 20s, he never really recovered from that operation and had many problems. Frank died in 1970 aged just 30. I was lucky to have known him for only 15 years, and I just wish it could have been longer.
The photo is of Frank recovering from his first operation.
This photo was in the newspaper and my mother got a copy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.