lesley_c

By lesley_c

It's been a while since I updated you all on the project but I hope you are all still as excited as I am?

Anyway! Here's what's been happening since I last posted....

You might be wondering what the photograph is about, hmm?

Well, basically I have a pretty decent collection of instax, Polaroid and film cameras however I have quickly realised that the equipment in my digital (err) arsenal is less impressive. Yeah the Canon 6D is a fab camera and the 50mm lens combination gives a pleasing image finish but it's sadly not enough to meet the plans I have for the individual shoots and the project overall.

So, the next step is to raise some cash and buy some new lenses! Short of starting a crowdfunding page, I am having to think creatively about raising the money I need however plans are afoot and I'll keep you all posted.

Luckily I have also been able to fit in a few catch ups with some of the people that have volunteered and have a few shoots scheduled in for the end of this month.

I think the main things to come out of the last month or so is the realisation that the project is going to evolve, change and adapt to however the volunteers want it to. I've had lots of ideas from the people involved especially around where they'd like the shoot to take place but also some really interesting conversations around what inspires them stylistically, what scares them about being photographed and what motivates them to be involved.

All of these types of conversations have really opened up my thoughts on what the project can achieve. And at the moment, it could achieve so much! However, if I can get the volunteers to be able to see themselves through my eyes and maybe even the eyes that make them look positively at others then I think the project will be a huge success.

As I translate what that means in reality, I'm also continuing to plan in meet ups, research locations, understand styles and come up with ideas for each and every person involved in the project so expect to hear from me soon and expect some more updates as we go. Phew!

Lel xx

Ps... Almost 100 people have volunteered - wow, right? Thats not to say I don't need more so as always, get in touch if you want to be involved

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.