Return to the North

By Viking

Fire!

Well having said I was taking a break I am back (briefly)
Around 12.30am last night I woke to sounds of popping and banging - at first I thought it was the wind rattling a bag outside the window but it carried on. I thought then that perhaps it was the swimming pool across the road which is open for repair. At this point I thought I had better have a sneaky look through the curtains. This is what I saw!!
I initially thought it was our hospital/ doctors surgery on fire. Thankfully it was the building behind it which are a plant nursery . Still devastating for the people who own it but again thankfully no one in the building and their house which is on the other side of the plot, was saved.

The town siren went off just as I was about to ring emergency services and 5 minutes later the fire brigade were there. As you can see this was already well alight!

Watching the sparks fly high into the air and be blown around by the strong winds made me think of how easily fire spreads and leaps. For about an hour I watched the sparks fly over my roof )the fire was maybe 200m or so away)

A rather sleepless night!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.