A successful exchange of tokens on the move

Down on the Kent and East Sussex today for the first time in a few weeks. A gloriously sunny day with a 5 train service, the Wealden Pullman and a few interesting incidents all mixed in.

And I didn't pull a lever all day as I had a trainee signalman in the box. The first trainee I've supervised since passing out last year. So I let him operate the box while I watched and prompted but tried to let him make decisions and rectify any errors himself rather than step in and do it or tell him what to do. I remember how some signalmen could be - you'd be reluctant to hesitate at a lever or action because he'd intervene before you'd made your choice or put right your mistake.

He also had to complete a set of written box practical questions, which were the same as the ones I did in June 2012, so that was good for me to go over those points again. And being a young buck he could do the gates as well, reducing the number of times I  had to go up and down the steps into the box.

In the evening we went to the Stilebridge Folk club near Marden to listen to some very talented musicians and join in with the singarounds. Very good. Getting an old folkie now. We'll have to rehearse something to contribute in a later meeting!

This shot was on the iPhone again, but have included a shot from the Lumix by comparison as I did yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.